Pursuing your dreams

Dreams are a bit like geocaching, you have a goal and just need to figure out how to get there.

A while ago I wrote about having a bucketlist and I listed some caches that I’d really want to visit and show to my son if I was given the opportunity. Well, I figured out that the opportunity will not just be given, it had to be taken.

After our short road trip to southern Sweden, while my son was away at the short stay away home, I packed our rucksacks and planed the drive. We were going to visit GCGWED, Njupeskär Vattenfall! Number three on our bucketlist!

An early morning we left home and a 6 hours drive and 4 hours hike with a 300+ feet climb and 20 kg in my rucksack we arrived at our “basecamp” by the lake Rösjön. We had a wonderful hike even if we had to break up half a day earlier than expected. In the end I think we walked 30-35 km, sometimes in really bad terrain, during the 48 hours we spent on our adventure.

In the end I think that a new world opened up for us, I need to tweak our hiking gear a little with a portable toilet that I can carry outside my rucksack, but other than that I don’t think there is anything that can stop us from longer hikes into the wilderness of Sweden.

Now on to plan next adventures. We have Thailand in March and I’ll see if I can bring my son to Boston in June but there is so much time to fun things in untill then … and then there is the ultimate journey to plan, the one that my wife just shakes her head at when I bring it up 🙂

Our Basecamp

Our Basecamp

Plenty of cloudberries around to eat while we were walking.

Plenty of cloudberries around to eat while we were walking.

Terrain slowed us down at some places.

Terrain slowed us down at some places.

Geocaching in the evening. This is close to 10pm while we are on our way back to basecamp.

Geocaching in the evening. This is close to 10pm while we are on our way back to basecamp.

Don't know why but people enjoy building with stones.

Don’t know why but people enjoy building with stones.

On our way to visit the waterfall once we got down from the mountain again.

On our way to visit the waterfall once we got down from the mountain again.

Thats about 90 meters of falling water.

Thats about 90 meters of falling water.

This is probably the picture with worst quality but that has the most to tell. This picture is what told me that my son enjoyed our adventure and even if I'm still limping it was totally worth it.

This is probably the picture with worst quality but that has the most to tell. This picture is what told me that my son enjoyed our adventure and even if I’m still limping it was totally worth it.

2 thoughts on “Pursuing your dreams

  1. fredr1c says:

    Beautifully told and photographed — thanks for sharing.

  2. Rob Alfred aka Bigal437 says:

    This was a cool story and I’m sure you both had fun. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

