Feeling guilty

Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing.
~Oliver Wendell Holmes

How I wish that was true, even for me. Old age shouldn’t be something that makes me feel uncomfortable at this stage of my life, but I’m afraid it does. I’m not anxious about the age itself, but for the change in my energy, and possible physical obstacles that might come with age. I have realized that one day my son will be a bit strenuous for me and my wife, and at that stage in life he will move from us, to live in some kind of group living where he will receive the attention that he needs just to keep in shape. I fear that when this time comes, he will lose a bit of his adventures; there will not be time for road trips or long hikes, no more vacations in foreign countries and very little above the normal to experience. I have realized that I live my life to a big part for my son, and I feel that I owe him to stay fit for as long as I can. I feel an urge to experience and travel as much as I can with him, as long as my body is strong enough to handle the situations that might occur.

Now you know why I feel guilty for being overweight, and not taking care of myself as well as I take care of my son.

If you like what you read, have questions, suggestions or just feel the need to say ‘Hi’, leave a comment. Feedback is always appreciated.

Leave a Reply

